To Dye For

The tie dyed t-shirt.  Is there anything that screams homemade more than those crazy starburst patterns of bold color?  I see one and immediately I think of summer, probably because every year my children return from camp with a newly dyed shirt in hand.

On Saturday, my daughter and I rounded up several boring white tee shirts with the intention of transforming them with tie dye, taking them from old and grungy to fun and fabulous.   We jumped into the activity with marked enthusiasm.   I mean, how hard could it be?

It was surprisingly easy.  I might be the only person in the world who has never tie dyed a shirt at summer camp, but I had never tried this craft before.  We covered the kitchen table with plastic trash bags and paper towels and jumped right in.  It was messy, but I was expecting that.  We simply scrunched up the shirts, secured them with rubber bands and applied dye – lots and lots of dye!

They all turned out great.  But don’t take my word for it – see for yourself:

crafts 004  crafts 009crafts 010

In addition to the dyed shirts, we experimented with decorating shirts with fabric markers and stencils.  My teenage son designed and created this Dr. Who themed shirt:

dr who shirt

This tank top, which will be used as a pajama top, was designed and made by my daughter:

crafts 007

The tie dye kit we used was purchased for less than ten dollars, and no “extra” money was spent on the shirts.  We simply grabbed clothes that were not being worn because of a stain or small imperfection and used those.  Best of all, I got to set aside my usual schedule of housework and errands and spend the time engaged in fun with my kids.  It doesn’t get much better than that!

4 thoughts on “To Dye For

Leave a Reply

