Insomnia

I’m not sleeping well of late.

More accurately, I’m not sleeping well at the proper times.  I’m a champ for sleeping in the afternoon from about 2:00 to 5:00.  I rest my eyes – just for a moment – and before I know it I’m sound asleep.  I can’t deny the rejuvenating quality of a mid day nap, but only a few hours later I’m regretting my siesta.   Later, when everyone else in my house is peacefully snoring in their cozy beds, I’m tossing and turning and desperately seeking slumber.

Tuesday night I went to bed just before midnight, but I did not fall asleep – not “real sleep” in any event.  I drifted in and out of a hazy state, but never found the Land of Nod.  By 3:00 a.m. I was wide awake again.  Historically, only college students, emergency room staff, security guards and never-say-die party animals are conscious at that late hour.  Oh, and me.  I was awake and furtively typing away on my laptop, hoping that I would not disturb anyone else in the house.  Hours later, I collapsed into bed, finally ready for rest.  I woke up only a few hours later.  When I read the words I wrote during my middle of the night writing session, it was garbage.  It read like the incoherent ramblings of a sleep deprived maniac, which, of course, is what it was.

Since I did not sleep during the night, I surrendered to the siren call of an afternoon snooze.  I woke up three hours later, disoriented and dehydrated.  After checking on my kids to make sure they had not set themselves or anything else on fire while I rested, I ran to the kitchen to throw together dinner.  My husband walked through the door a scant ten minutes later.  I tried to keep it together, but I’m sure he could tell that I’d been unconscious for most of the afternoon.  The tangled hair and crossed eyes are a dead giveaway.  The fact that dinner was frozen solid in a bag inside of our refrigerator may have also alerted him that something was amiss.

I’m feeling the urge to sleep again this afternoon, but I’m forcing myself to stay awake.  Hopefully that will end this craziness and restore me to a normal sleep schedule.  You don’t think my problem has anything to do with the after dinner coffee I have indulged in the last few days, do you?

Nah.  Me neither.

owl-50267_640

Just call me “Night Owl”

4 thoughts on “Insomnia

  1. Tomorrow when the sleep-ies hit bring the kids and come for a swim. It will rejuvenate you for a short while. (But if you fall asleep in your dinner plate I will not take responsibility.)

    Like

  2. Been there…. Hard to break the cycle. Stopping the caffeine after noon is a good start. And Tylenol PM helps get you back on the track of sleeping through the night,
    Good luck!
    And yes, when I was working I’d wake up in the middle of the night with these “great” ideas and scribble them on a notepad by the bed. In the morning it was most often a WTF experience.

    Like

Leave a Reply

