Changes in Attitude, Changes in Gratitude

I found a lot of things to complain about today.

I overslept, yet I didn’t feel rested.  When I left the house for Sunday School, I discovered a flat tire on my van.  The kids were squirrelly in church today.  I’m not feeling well; I’m growing a headache and have the beginnings of a cough.  No one did the dishes.  I forgot a load of laundry in the washer and now it stinks.

Yes, it was very easy to complain today.

But this is the day the Lord has made; let us rejoice and be glad in it.

It’s not my natural inclination to rejoice.  I’m not saying I don’t appreciate my blessings.  But I’m not the sort of soul who automatically sees the positive in every situation.   I have to work at it.  You won’t find me singing arias as I scrub the toilet, despite my deep appreciation for indoor plumbing.

But this is the day the Lord has made; let us rejoice and be glad in it.

One thing I enjoy about writing is the opportunity to examine my thoughts.  When I read the first paragraph of this post, I realized I haven’t told the whole story of my day.  I didn’t get enough sleep last night, but I had the luxury of a nap this afternoon.  We are a two car family, so getting to church on time wasn’t an issue, even with a flat tire.

But this is the day the Lord has made; let us rejoice and be glad in it.

The kids might act up in church, but they go to church, willingly and without complaint, week after week.  In fact, they claim to like it there.  I have a full bottle of Day Quil in the medicine cabinet.  I can run the laundry through the cycle again – it’s not as if I have to beat it against a rock to clean it.

But this is the day the Lord has made; let us rejoice and be glad in it.

I might end up washing the dishes, but there are not many of them.  We were invited to a large potluck today, so I did not have to cook dinner.  We were surrounded by friends who went out of their way to treat us like family.  The weather was perfect – truly a gift of nature.

But this is the day the Lord has made; let us rejoice and be glad in it.

Some days are worse than others; I can’t deny that.  There are times, though, when the problem doesn’t lie with the day I was given, but with the attitude I’m displaying.

Thank you, Lord, for the day you made – it took me a while to get there, but I’m ready to rejoice and be glad in it.

2mmup

4 thoughts on “Changes in Attitude, Changes in Gratitude

  1. Lovely, again, you have captured what many of us feel some days, BUT, this IS the day The Lord has made. let us rejoice and be glad in it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

