A Perfect Moment in Time?

Today’s Daily Post prompt sent my mind whirling with possibilities:

“For a moment today, time stands still — but you can tweak one thing while it’s stopped. What do you do?”

At first this seemed a golden opportunity – the ability to pinpoint a moment in my life and transform it, perhaps from mundane to good, from good to wonderful, from wonderful to perfect.  The possibility beguiled me instantly.  I could choose exact words when responding to an important question.  I could take back a misguided eye roll.  I could take a beautiful moment, say a sunset or a heartfelt “I love you,” and pack a little more oomph into the experience by adding inspirational music or a hand plucked flower to the equation.

It sounds great, doesn’t it?  I soon realized, however, how difficult it would be to orchestrate a moment like that.  How much manipulation would it take to get that moment just right?  This is a once in a lifetime opportunity, after all – I want to make the most of it!

I once cooked a celebratory meal for someone special.  I followed a favorite recipe of mine, one that I have made many times to rave reviews.  But I decided to make one small change to the meal in my desire to improve it, to make it extra special.  Just a bit more spice to awaken the senses, I thought to myself – and before I knew what I had done, the dish was ruined.  Most of us have episodes like this, a time we can all pinpoint with the words “I should stopped right there and left things as they were.”

With that in mind, my response to the question above – What Will I Do? – has to be this:

Nothing.

I’ll take my chances on each day as it unfolds.  I may not get to plan everything my way, or tweak a moment to perfection, but I have to trust that God will.  I have been blessed with perfect moments in my life, but not a single one of them has come about because I did anything to make them so.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAI have laughed until I cried at a friend’s offhand comment.  I have received hugs just when I felt my most unlovable.  There were moments when I chanced to glance at the sky and glimpsed a perfect rainbow, or paused to tie my shoe and spied a delicate flower nestled in the grass at my feet.  Occasions when, seemingly by chance, my eyes have met my husband’s across a crowded room just when I needed his reassuring smile.

I can’t improve on those moments.  The spontaneity, the organic expression of love, the unexpected glimpse into the wonder of creation – I can’t make them happen.  They are gifts, and I love that I never know when I will receive them.

10 thoughts on “A Perfect Moment in Time?

  1. The rainbow is gorgeous, and the flower at your feet, with no photo at all, is equally beautiful. Your words filled my senses until my eyes leaked.

    I could swear I saw the reassurance you felt in Brian’s smile…
    “Occasions when, seemingly by chance, my eyes have met my husband’s across a crowded room just when I needed his reassuring smile.”

    Now that’s good writing!

    Like

Leave a Reply

