Tomorrow

After all, tomorrow is another day.

-Scarlett O’Hara

It’s been one of those days.

I had been awake less than ten minutes when I heard the sound of glass breaking, followed by a child yelling for help.  A drinking glass slipped from my son’s grip, hit the counter, and then shattered into a million billion shards (approximately).  Glass covered the counter.  Jagged pieces landed in the dog’s dinner bowls and water dish.  Shards shot across the floor, preventing anyone in bare feet from crossing the kitchen.  In the midst of it all, my son held his arm out, blood rapidly escaping from several cuts.  It’s a bit of blur now, but somehow we managed to maneuver him from the kitchen to the bathroom without any further injury.

By happenstance, I managed to cut my own finger rather deeply a few days ago in a separate kitchen incident.  (What can I say?  We’re a clumsy family.)  When it was my injury, I remained calm and in control, despite the deep gash.  However (and I’m not proud of this), today I freaked out a little.  Okay, a lot.  I made loud screeching noises, and woke my husband from a deep sleep with my panicked pleas for help, and basically failed to respond in any sort of rational manner.  (In my defense, the cuts were small, but there was a lot of blood.  ‘Nuff said.)

In the end, it wasn’t really a big deal.  We patched our kid up.  I swept the kitchen, washed the dog bowls, and cleaned the counters.  Everyone made it to school and work on time, and that was the end of it.

Only for me, it wasn’t.

I never pulled myself together after that.  I carried that sense of frantic urgency with me all day.  I couldn’t shake the feeling of helplessness that had grabbed me so early in the morning.  A spent a few hours afterward bouncing from adrenaline.  I felt as if I was speaking too loudly and too often.  (And I was alone a lot of the day…)  I couldn’t seem to think clearly, or make decisions.  I kept forgetting things.  By the afternoon, my energy level crashed, and I realized I failed to complete a single item on my to do list.

A new day dawns...thank goodness.
A new day will dawn again tomorrow…thank goodness!

The day is transitioning into evening now, and I’m so happy that it is. At this point, I’m already looking forward to a good night’s sleep, and the chance to start over again tomorrow.  It wasn’t a horrible day, but I’ve spent most of it feeling a bit “off.”

It’s just been one of those days.

I can’t change the day I’ve had so far, but here’s how I plan to spend what’s left of it:  Eat a relaxing meal with my family. Spend time doing something I enjoy, like crocheting or writing.  And then later tonight, I will make a cup of tea, find a funny movie on Netflix, and relax.   Tomorrow will be here before I know it, and things will look better then…

…after all, tomorrow is another day.

5 thoughts on “Tomorrow

Leave a Reply

