Tomorrow is Thanksgiving!

Tomorrow is Thanksgiving – although it looks more like Christmas!  We have been experiencing one day of snow after another around these parts, with more snow predicted tonight, and into the morning tomorrow.

nov snapshots 026As beautiful as the snow is…I wish it would stop.  I have plans for tomorrow – BIG plans that include family and fun, turkey with all the trimmings and homemade pie.  I plan to celebrate the holiday with loved ones, with all of us laughing and make silly toasts and watching the kids play in the snow.  I want to spend the day surrounded by family, counting my blessings, and stuffing my face with mashed potatoes.  I want to watch football games, (Go Steelers!), and I want to see Santa Claus make his first appearance of the season at the end of the Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade.  I want what every red-blooded American citizen wants, namely, to eat so much that I pass out into a temporary coma induced by the over-consumption of candied yams and pumpkin pie.

That’s not so much to ask, is it?

The only sticking point to these plans is that they require a bit of travel (about 80 miles).  Normally that isn’t a big deal, but the constant snow isn’t my idea of ideal driving weather.  The main thing to understand about a big snow storm is this:  it looks absolutely beautiful, magical and breathtaking UNTIL you want to go somewhere.  Then it becomes a frozen pain in the neck.  It stops looking like a winter wonderland straight out of an old Bing Crosby movie, and it starts looking more like the backdrop for a Soviet era gulag, a snowy prison from which there is no escape.

Ok.  I might be exaggerating a little bit.

This family snapshot is from Thanksgiving 2007.  I'm thinking we are due to take a new one!
This family snapshot is from Thanksgiving 2007. I’m thinking we are due to take a new one!

Luckily, the weather “experts” predict the snow to be tapering off tomorrow, so I’m happy about that.  Brian learned to drive on these snowy roads, so I trust him to get us where we need to go.  I’d still be happier if the sun came out, and the clouds parted, and the roads dried up, but since I don’t have any magical abilities to make that happen, I’ll have to take whatever I get.  Because the weather is going to do what the weather is going to do, no matter what I want.

So, I’ve decided that rather than focusing on the cruel injustice of my total lack of weather controlling super powers, I’m going to think about all I have to be thankful for instead – wonderful things like family and friends, a warm, snug home, and plenty of food to eat.  I’m blessed every day, not just on Thanksgiving.

That being said… I’m excited for the big feast day tomorrow!  Happy Thanksgiving everyone!

 

5 thoughts on “Tomorrow is Thanksgiving!

  1. Dear Kristine!
    Just stopping by to wish you and your family a warm, delicious and Happy Thanksgiving!! I can somehow already feel it’s going to be another very good one for you guys, snow or not! 😀 Hugs, Sharon

    Like

    1. Thanks, Sharon — there is a lot of snow out there this morning, but I’m hopeful the plow trucks will have done their job before are ready to drive out today. 🙂 I know this isn’t a world wide holiday — but we all have blessings to celebrate, so I’m wishing a Happy Thanksgiving to you, too!

      Like

  2. Snow is pretty but it doesn’t make it easy to get around, for sure! I remember back in 2010 there was a month of snow and ice in Ireland and the UK, which is very unusual for that part of the world. I was due to come home for Christmas from France, it took me 48 hours to get home between cancelled flights etc etc but luckily I got home in time for the dinner! 🙂
    Have a great Thanksgiving!

    Like

Leave a Reply

