Crocheted Head Wrap

The bitter cold of January has sent me into forced hibernation.  I’ve spent the last few afternoons tucked under my favorite blanket, drinking coffee and crocheting while I watch Netflix streaming.  It is not the most exciting way to pass the time, but it feels like the right thing to do while the snow blows past my window and the thermometer dips ever closer to the zero degree mark.

Most of my efforts have been spent on crocheting head wraps.  I made one for myself a few days ago, and received many compliments (and even sold a few!) after posting a picture on Facebook.  Here I am modeling my creation:

facebook profile
This head wrap was made with black Peaches & Cream cotton yarn.

I like it because it isn’t bulky, and it keeps my ears warm.  It doesn’t give me a case of static hair head like wearing a hat often does.  It doesn’t take a lot of yarn, so it is a great way to use up yarn left over from other projects.  If you would like to make one, here is how I did it:

Materials:

I hook, Worsted weight yarn  (I used cotton yarn for the black one I am wearing.  The example pictured in the tutorial is made using Caron Simply Soft for the headband, and the flower is made from a purple yarn I found in my stash.)

ch= chain, hdc=half double crochet, sc=single crochet, sl st=slip stitch

 

Head Wrap directions:

Row 1:  ch 6, hdc in the first four ch (You will skip the two ch closest to the hook, and begin crocheting in 3rd ch from hook)

Row 2:  ch 2, turn, hdc in 2nd ch from hook (this is the base of the turning ch), hdc in each stitch across

Row 3-6:  Repeat row 2.  (You will be increasing by one hdc in each row.)

Row 7:  ch 2, turn, hdc in each stitch across.  (Do not crochet into the turning chain — you are done with increases.  You will have a total of 9 hdc plus the turning ch.)

crochet stuff 002
End of Row 7

Rows 8-41:  Same as Row 7

Row 42:  Start decreasing.  Ch 2, skip first stitch, hdc in second stitch of row and across.

Rows 43-46:  Repeat Row 42.  (Row 46 will have 4 hdc, plus the turning ch)

Piece should measure somewhere between 19 and 20 in.  You can add extra rows of 4 hdc at the end if needed to make your head wrap longer.  You can delete rows in the main body (Rows 8-41) if needed to make the head wrap smaller.  Yarn is stretchy, so I like to make it fit snugly.

crochet stuff 003
This is what it looks like at the end of Row 46. No sc trim has been added yet.

Trim (optional):  Crochet around the edge the entire head wrap with sc, spacing stitches evenly.  Fasten off, leaving long tail to sew the ends together.

 (If you wish, you can skip the edging and sew the head wrap together at the end of row 46.  I prefer the look of the sc edging myself.  Adding the trim also makes the head wrap slightly wider and longer.)

Use yarn needle to sew ends together to form head wrap.  Fasten off and weave in loose ends.

Add flower if desired.  You can use a favorite pattern of your own, or the one I created below.

crochet stuff 005
Finished flower

Flower Directions:

Ch 3, join with slip stitch (sl st) to form a circle.

Round 1:  ch 1, 12 sc in circle, join with sl st to ch 1

Round 2:  ch 1, 3 sc in each sc, join with sl st to ch 1 (36 sc)  Flower center will not be flat — it should look “ruffled.”

Round 3:  *ch 6 (you can chain more if you desire longer “petals”), attach with sl st to next sc in back loop only.  Repeat from * around.  Join to beginning ch with sl st, leaving a long tail for sewing the flower to the headband.

Now place your flower where desired on the head wrap – I like mine to be centered between my ear and the crown of my head.   Use yarn needle to sew flower to head wrap.

crochet stuff 007
The finished headband.

That’s it!  You should now be the proud owner of a warm head wrap with a loopy flower.  The back can’t be seen in the above photo, but it tapers slightly so it won’t bunch up underneath your hair.  If you prefer one band of a uniform width to wear over your hair as a headband, I would suggest crocheting 46 rows of 9 hdc.

Make them for yourself, give them as gifts, sell them – whatever you like.  If you have any trouble understanding the directions, please ask for help in the comments.  This is my first time writing a pattern.  I have done my best to make sure my directions are clearly written and free of mistakes, but by all means let me know if I can improve them.

The wind is blowing, and a fresh pot of coffee is brewing – it must be time to get my hands on some more yarn!  Happy crocheting everyone!

One thought on “Crocheted Head Wrap

Leave a Reply

