Another Liebster Award!

liebster_award_badgesAs you know, I am not too proud to admit that I enjoy being liked.  (Who doesn’t, really? Am I right?  Of course I am.)  So naturally I was thrilled to discover I have been nominated for a second Liebster award.  (You can read about my first Liebster award here.)  Thank you, Ashley at Indie Ashley for my second nomination!   Ashley is an indie author with a new book available in e-book format.  Head over to her blog for all the details!  (I believe there is a GIVE AWAY in progress — hooray for FREE books!)

Now, as Ashley mentions on her own blog, there is no obligation to accept the award.  I won’t get thrown out of the blogging community or anything dire like that if I don’t play along.  But, I believe the nominations are made in good fun, with the intention of offering readers new blogs to explore.  And, naturally, the bloggers are excited to receive new traffic.  That seems like a good thing for everyone involved, so I decided to join in for another go around.

The rules are simple:  Answer ten questions provided by the blogger who nominated you.  Link to the blogger who offered you the award.  Then pick five blogs with less than 1,000 followers to nominate, and provide them with questions of their own to answer.   Easy, right?

So, without further ado — here are my responses to my questions:

1. Where would you like to explore (anywhere in the world and beyond)?

I would like to visit Bora Bora, because I have a theory that it isn’t actually a real place.  I mean, look at this photo:

bora-bora-62863_640I’m certain this must be a computer generated fantasy world.  How can there possibly be a place where the water is that color of blue, or the scenery that stunning?  Nope, I won’t believe it until I see it myself, so I guess I’ll just have to visit Bora Bora  to find out if such beauty can really exist.  Sure, it will be a long trip, and I’ll have to spend many hours in the sand, and surf, and sun collecting data for my study, but I’m willing to make the sacrifice in the pursuit of intellectual honesty.

2. What is your favorite genre of books? Or your favorite genre of movies?

I enjoy many different genres, but in the end I like to see or read things that will cause me to smile — or better yet, to laugh out loud. Romantic comedies, dark humor, slapstick, wry sarcasm — I’m game for all of it.  I do enjoy “serious” books and movies, as well, but I can’t stay immersed in them for long.  I need a steady dose of humor to keep me from sinking into a morose cloud of self involvement.

3. What can you learn from little kids?

Children live each day immersed in the moment, with little or no worries about what tomorrow brings.  They don’t worry about the extended weather forecast, or over schedule their days with appointments.  I could stand to spend more time focused on today, and less time worrying about the future.

4. If you could create something, with an unlimited budget and resources, what would you create?

Do I have to pick just one thing?  This answer is sure to change by tomorrow, but for today I will say I would like to create an all inclusive retreat for aspiring writers.  It wouldn’t be a posh destination with all the amenities, but instead it would be more like a summer camp.  There would be physical and experiential challenges, as well as workshops and writing events.  It would draw famous and talented authors, agents, and publishers.  Wait, I have to go plan this out in greater detail…I’m starting to get some seriously great fantasy ideas here…

gertiesuperbowl5. What animal would you like to experience being for one day?

I would like to spend a day as my dog, Gertrude, because she is spoiled and loved and pampered.  And, I would like to find out why she can’t keep herself from jumping all over people, or from eating butter off the table every time my back is turned.

6. When are you the happiest?

This is going to sound corny, but I’m happiest when I’m with my husband, Brian.  It doesn’t matter where we are; my life is always better when we are together.

7.What inspires (drives) your blog?

When I first started blogging, I was concerned I would run out of topics within a month.  I think I’ve been able to keep it going by concentrating on topics I enjoy, regardless of whether or not my writing contains any current buzz words or talking points.  That might seem counter intuitive, but I think it is better than adopting a contrived voice simply to capitalize on current trends.

8. Where would you stop on a cross country road trip?

I want to go to New Orleans during Mardi Gras, drink a Hurricane, and watch the parades.  This might have ended badly in my younger (read “wilder”) days, but I think I could enjoy the nutty chaos of it all now, without falling prey to my baser instincts.

I think.

9. If you lived in a black and white world, what is one thing you would make colorful?

Hugs.  People would shine bright yellow when they hug.  Like glowworms.  Is that cute, or just creepy?  I’m going to say it’s both.

10. What are your thoughts right now?

I’m thinking of all the things I have to get finished this week.  I guess I better go read my answer to #3 over again, and try to chill out!

Now I get to choose five blogs to receive the Liebster award!  My nominees are:

A Conversation With Moo

Chasing Conversations

Smiling, Shining, and Shrinking…All For Jesus

Nice Piece of Work

AfterWriter Dreams

My questions for them:

1)  How did you pick your blog name?

2)  Why did you start your blog?

3)  Knowing what you know now, what advice would you give to your teenage self?

4)  What are three things you cannot live without?

5)  Of all the blog posts you have written, which one is your favorite?  (Link, please!)

6)  Describe yourself in three words.

7)  Who is your favorite author and why?

8)  What single quality do you appreciate most in people?

9)  What is your favorite quote and by whom?

10)  What super power do you wish you had, and why?

Thanks for reading!  I encourage you to visit the nominated blogs above — you just might find a new favorite.

6 thoughts on “Another Liebster Award!

  1. This is so great of you, I’m really chuffed to be included in your list. I’m still trying to figure out why because my ramblings are often random or parochial, and I don’t make anything exquisitely beautiful – my life is just one experiment after another, and I keep making things up as I go along. You guys all seem so together and focused in comparison. However, thank you again, I will try to get my acceptance post out shortly – some flippin’ chunky questions you’ve put out there! 🙂 x

    Like

    1. Ah, but it is the “life is just one experiment after another” aspect of your blog that keeps it interesting. 🙂 Also, as an American, I was unfamiliar with the word “chuffed” before you made this comment. So, now I can thank you for teaching me a new colloquialism, which makes my writer’s heart happy indeed. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

