The Fifth Season

It’s a touch icy out there — as I learned last week when I slid my van all the way across the Dollar General parking lot.  My son especially enjoyed the part where I frantically shouted “please stop, van, please stop!” as we skated sideways over the snow covered asphalt.  Luckily, no cars or pedestrians were in my way.  I did manage to end up sliding directly into a prime space by the entrance, enabling me to exit my vehicle with an “I meant to do that” look on my face.

Yes, folks we have entered the fifth season of the year.  Oh, you didn’t realize there were five seasons? I assure you there are:  Spring, Summer, Autumn, Winter, and finally, the season known as I CAN’T BELIEVE IT’S STILL SNOWING – WHEN WILL THIS MADNESS END?  I’ll admit the name is a bit unwieldy; that may be why you haven’t heard of it before.*

This season does not appear on any calendar, but basically it encompasses the entire month of February.  It’s been months since the excitement of the holidays, and yet spring still seems so far away.  In a cruel joke of nature, the shortest month seems to last the longest.

Too much time has passed since the first awe inspiring snowfall of the season.  Remember way back in December (or maybe even November), when the first snow fell gently from the sky and we all sighed at the beauty of each spectacularly breath-taking and unique flake?  We took pictures of our snow covered patio furniture and rushed to share them on Facebook.  Then we broke out the hot cocoa, and updated our social media with cute phrases like “It’s snuggle weather!” or “I’m walking in a winter wonderland!”

Yeah, we’re over that now, aren’t we?

Now we wake up and look out the window, only to see another day of this:

valentine'sday 002

And then we say a very bad word.

That’s February, folks.  And there’s nothing you can do about it.  Hunker down, climb under a blanket, and send your kids out to shovel the walk – again.  But take heart.  It won’t last forever.  Before you know it, it will be summer…and then we can all complain about the oppressive heat, the bugs, and the awful humidity.

I don’t know about you, but I’m really looking forward to that!

 *If you live in Florida or Arizona, you don’t have this season; instead you get Snowbird Season, that special time of the year when all the miserably cold people from northern climates decide to spend a month or more in your town, driving the wrong way on one way streets, sitting in “your pew” at church, and complaining that they can’t find a good delicatessen anywhere.
3 thoughts on “The Fifth Season

  1. Oh my Kristine, this is a very good blog — I can’t believe you don’t have more likes or comments on it. I’ll bet Word Press was being glitchy and people couldn’t get their “likes” to post. I’m absolutely sure that everyone who read this loved it. And the picture is great. I remember when a scene like that made me say with a touch of wonder, “Oh my!” And now a scene like this makes me say, “Ugh, stop already.” According to the forcast we’ve got another storm rolling in. That’ll be March coming in like a lion.

    Like

Leave a Reply

