Flash Fiction Friday – Wise Counsel

Today’s Flash Fiction Friday prompt:

“He had told her not to do it.”

WISE COUNSEL

He had told her not to do it.

“You’ll regret it,” he said, and with those words he sparked a raging conflagration.

She told him to stay out of her business.  How dare he presume to counsel her on such a personal decision!  Was this because they were engaged?

Did he think the change in relationship status gave him some sort of macho man veto power in her life?  It didn’t, she railed, and if he assumed it did – well, then perhaps he should reconsider his proposal!  She wasn’t going to give up her right to autonomous decision making because he put a ring on her finger.  Some things were none of his business, she added, and who asked for his opinion anyway?

She was still her own woman.  Some life choices would always be hers — and hers alone.  She gave a toss of her wild mane of hair as she stomped out of the house, the screen door banging shut behind her.

Hours later he found her sitting on the couch, sniffing and trying to wipe smeared mascara away from eyes which were puffy from an extended crying jag.  He sat beside her and pulled her into a comforting embrace, not even caring when her sobs stained his favorite polo shirt with tears and makeup.  She wailed her regret into his chest.

“You told me not to do it, but I wouldn’t listen.”  Another bout of tears wracked her frame.

When at last her crying stopped, he put his hand under her chin and tilted her face up to his.  Her hair, only hours ago a luxuriant mass of tresses, now framed her face in a pageboy bob.

“I was wrong,” he said, kissing her on the tip of the nose.

“You look stunning in short hair.”

 

Thank you for reading.  Here’s are some ways you can help keep this feature going:

  1. Submit a first line suggestion for next week in the comments section.  No obscenities, please.   Prompts will be chosen at random, lottery style.  
  2. Come back to Bright Tuesday next Friday to find out which suggested first line was chosen, and to read the next Flash Fiction Friday story (750 words or less). 
  3. I appreciate constructive criticism, so please offer your thoughts and opinions in the comments.

Fiction Writers:  You are invited to write your own story using today’s prompt to post on your own blog.  Please include a link back to this post, and leave a link to your story in the comments section.  Doing so allows participating authors to read and comment on each other’s work, and also helps readers find new authors to enjoy. 

6 thoughts on “Flash Fiction Friday – Wise Counsel

  1. Oh – so true! Also, a good opportunity for the heroine to self reflect on the value of involving all stakeholders in making decisions!
    “The formality of the court room and the seroiusness it conveyed was palpable as he sat there, a powerless onlooker in the gallery, awaiting the final verdict.”

    Like

  2. Hi there, I’m Jo. I was recently nominated for a Liebster Award, you can google it, it’s a thing.
    Anyway from what I understand the whole idea is to spread the love a little bit around WordPress by sharing some writers I enjoy with the people who follow my page.

    Below is the link to my post where I talk about the award and nominate you. I hope you take part., cause it’s fun and stuff.

    http://jojoknowseverything.wordpress.com/2014/05/10/on-liebster-awards-chain-mail-and-communit

    Like

    1. Thanks for picking me! I am going to decline to take part 😦 only because I have accepted this award twice already. As much as I love the attention, I don’t want to keep recycling the same posts — I think I was already pushing it the second time around. haha
      I really appreciate the shout-out though, and I’m glad it led me to your blog. Thanks again for the nomination!

      Like

      1. Haha. Your very popular it seems. But you deserve it. Hopefully I at least sent some new people your way.

        Like

Leave a Reply

