Thanksgiving, Interrupted

thankful

Today wasn’t the Thanksgiving Day I was planning on having.

I happily assumed today would follow the usual (and beloved) script for American Thanksgiving.  You know the kind of Thanksgiving I’m talking about:  Macy’s parade on the television in the morning, followed by football in the afternoon.  A large family gathering around a decorated table of rich, delicious food.   Laughter – lots and lot of laughter.

And then my daughter Virginia woke up with a temperature of 102 degrees today.

She hadn’t been feeling well when she went to bed the night last night.   We had been hoping it was nothing more than the start of a head cold, but it was now obvious she was far sicker than that.   Excitement over the day quickly morphed to concern for her health.  I suggested my husband and son make the trip to join the rest of our family for the feast while I stayed home to care for our patient, but they declined the offer.

We are a family, and we wanted to be together – even if things weren’t perfect.

So our plans changed.  I put my daughter into the big comfy chair, under her favorite blanket, and set her up to enjoy a day long Gilmore Girls marathon.  My husband and I took a quick survey of our cupboards, freezer and refrigerator, and after a quick trip to Walmart, we managed to cobble together the ingredients for a last minute feast.  My husband took control over the preparation of dinner, while I fussed over Virginia, taking her temperature, keeping her hydrated, and managing her medication.

It wasn’t the day I’d been looking forward to, to be sure.  And yet, I think I felt more thankful this year, than I have in a long time.

I’m thankful for Tylenol.  I’m thankful the frozen turkey fit in the microwave.  I’m thankful for the “defrost” function on my microwave oven.  I’m thankful for my husband, the best chef in the world.  I’m thankful for warm blankets, cough drops, and nasal decongestant.   Most of all, I’m thankful for my family.

It’s only 7 pm, but it’s been a long day.  I’m looking forward to bed.  My daughter isn’t better yet, but she isn’t worse either.  I’m praying for a night of healing rest for her.

Happy Thanksgiving.  I hope your day was filled with blessings.  Perhaps, like me, your day wasn’t perfect.  But I hope you still found something to be thankful for.

Give thanks in all circumstances.  1 Thessalonians 5:18

4 thoughts on “Thanksgiving, Interrupted

  1. Oh dear, I’m so sorry…I’ll bet Brian’s family was disappointed too…but how wonderful that you found so much to give thanks for. I’m saying a prayer for Ginny to feel better tomorrow and the rest of you to stay healthy. Blessings on all of you!

    P.S. Nice write up.

    Like

Leave a Reply

